Capitol Reef National Park

The drive from Bryce to Torrey UT was incredible. We took Scenic Hwy 12 all the way to Torrey. The storm that is making its way across the nation made its mark as we were driving through Escalante and Grand Staircase National Monument.

Terry is an excellent driver. If it were up to me, I would have abandoned PeeWee long ago. He drove through wind and snow to get to our destination. But before the bad weather hit, we made a few stops to take in the view.

We decided to stay at 1000 Lakes RV park, full hook ups! Perfect place to weather the storm. At least we thought. It was so cold that Terry drove 18 miles to buy a space heater. That helped a lot.

The next day was sunny and warmer. We visited Capitol Reef NP, and WOW! I think we both said WOW at least 20 times in 20 minutes!

After a trip to the visitors’ center, and some advice from a friend, I chose Grand Wash as the hike du jour. We drove the Toad about a mile in to the trailhead. Get ready for some great photos!

The trail goes deep into the canyon.

Honestly, I felt like I was trespassing on some ancient, mystical site. The energy from both living and non living things was moving through me, making me feel so insignificant, yet accepted by the surroundings.

Terry thinks he’s the only one who has ever stuck his head in this hole in the mountain. Lol!

We are having fun!

So today was the drive toward Canyonlands and Arches National Parks. Here are a few photos from the drive;

Spring has arrived in Moab, so the trees are flowering and the sun is warm. I look forward to sharing the rest of this adventure with you! Thanks for riding along with us❤️.

Leave a comment